Reflecting on the Education Technology Class

Reflection is something that I have struggled with as a person for a long time. Having to look back and really think about things has never come easy to me. But here we go…

I remember signing up for this Education Technology class as it was a “required class” and it was unavoidable for me. I was definitely less than pleased, and would never have chosen to take this class voluntarily. But I can say with confidence that I am glad that I was forced to take this class. I have been exposed to tech in a way that I haven’t been before, and being put out of my comfort zone in the fact that I do not have a good relationship with technology by any means. I get frustrated, and annoyed with programs, slow internet, and technology in general, but despite this I have become far more confident with my skills with numerous programs, and technology. Though, I will never get over my frustration with bad internet connections!

This confidence that I have attained means so much to me as not only a student, but also as an aspiring teacher, and person in general. Being able to know how to create a video, and use QR codes, is something I never saw myself becoming proficient at. And screen-casting?! I never ever thought that I would be able to do something as advanced as that in my wildest dreams. Now I have the ability, confidence, and capacity to use technology in ways that I didn’t think that I would be able to ever as I was “bad at computers”. I am no longer bad, but I am okay at computers now, and that really does mean a lot to me.

Knowing that I can effectively consume, and create, content online and in the digital world is freeing and impact full in the long run looking forward to my career and life that I have ahead of me in this increasingly digital world that we live in.

So, after doing this reflection on my time in this education technology class I think that I have seen myself have a lot of personal growth not only in regards to technology, but also in myself with; communication, confidence, and openness to new things. I have become more effective in how I communicate, more confident in myself with tech (and in general), and with my openness to new things and experiences that put me out of my comfort zone. Especially blogging…  I never thought that I would be someone to say that I have a blog, in the literal sense, and also in the sense of being open and candid with my thoughts and feelings about things.

Long story short this class has taught me so much about technology (obviously), teaching, and myself as a person. I am very thankful for being forced into taking this class, because without it I would have never been exposed to all of the interesting education tech tools that I was exposed to.

2 thoughts on “Reflecting on the Education Technology Class

  1. Hayley, I appreciate that you can find the value that came out of something that you were “forced” to do! I think your future students will also benefit because your were forced to take this class. it was a pleasure learning with you this semester, and am pleased to the such growth in skills, and perhaps mindset as well. I hope that you will keep peeking in on your PLN from time to time to keep up with the latest in the edtech world.
    Cammie Kannekens

    Like

Leave a comment